top of page

Reviews

Please feel free to read our reviews from our guests who have visited Spenceville farms.  We are so thankful to have had such great guests visit our farm. 

Logo_Sq.jpg

January 3, 2023 - January 8, 2023 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Beautiful private house with lots of things to do. View is unbelievable. Love the plates! Thank you and I wish to come back again for a longer stay.

December 26, 2022 - January 1, 2023 - Farmhouse

Not yet reviewed

December 9, 2022 - December 12, 2022 - Farmhouse

Not yet reviewed

December 2, 2022 - December 4, 2022 - Farmhouse

Not yet reviewed

November 23, 2022 - November 26, 2022 - A - Frame Cabin

 5/5

The hosts bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. We loved the peace and quiet there. We saw deer, cows and of course "Rowdy Boy", the horse. The cabin was off the grid, so it provided the modern conveniences like solar panel (propane generator) electricity, gas stove, grill, running water, and Hughes internet! Only one day did the generator run as it was overcast. We will most likely book this cabin again when we come to visit our VA relatives!

November 23, 2022 - November 27, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Perfect Escape

The property is absolutely delightful. Love the views, love the fire pit, house is super cozy. Wifi is almost nonexistent so prepare your group ahead of time so there are the right expectations. Host are very accommodating. Really enjoyed our stay.

12/6/2022 at 4:53 PM

November 10, 2022 - November 17, 2022 - Farmhouse

Not yet reviewed

November 4, 2022 - November 8, 2022 - Farmhouse

 4/5

Comfortable home with spectacular views!

Beautiful home on stunning property. Great location to explore surrounding areas with privacy and quiet setting. Home was generally clean except the floor was is need of a thorough cleaning. Short on essentials (toilet paper) and owner requires you to wash towels used. Poor Wi-Fi so be ready to unplug especially from TV/internet. Overall recommend for a peaceful country getaway with plenty of room for all.

11/9/2022 at 4:15 PM

October 25, 2022 - October 29, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Beautiful Property / Beautiful Home

We had a wonderful time here. Everything was as mentioned and the Host was very responsive. Would highly recommend!

11/9/2022 at 4:27 PM

October 21, 2022 - October 24, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

So beautiful and so so so relaxing! We will definitely return for another visit to the farm!

October 21, 2022 - October 23, 2022 - A - Frame Cabin

 5/5

Not yet reviewed

October 17, 2022 - October 20, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Excellent vacation

House is beautiful, well stocked and furnished. Beautiful views. Can’t beat the area for a mountain vacation. Owners were great to work with. Highly recommended

10/20/2022 at 9:40 PM

October 13, 2022 - October 16, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Absolutely Excellent!!

Loved every minute!

10/19/2022 at 11:34 PM

October 7, 2022 - October 9, 2022 - A - Frame Cabin

 5/5

Beautiful, remote, little cabin. Cozy, clean, private. We had a blast exploring the property. We live on a farm in Ohio but this farm was absolutely stunning and a great stop on our way down South. Although we didn’t need anything our host was very polite and reachable. Welcomed us and checked in on us when we arrived and left. Hope to come back again. Only downside we ever had was we brought our 2 year old son with us and the spiral staircase going upstairs is very steep and narrow metal, has a unique rustic look, but had to keep him off of them for safety. Just a heads up for anyone else with littles.

October 6, 2022 - October 8, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Fall stay

Enjoyed the views and the house. Be aware it’s a gravel driveway and one I would not want to attempt after dark. Owner was very good at responding to messages.

10/8/2022 at 7:47 PM

September 29, 2022 - October 2, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Nice Weekend

very comfortable & clean. GREAT views

10/4/2022 at 1:20 AM

September 23, 2022 - September 26, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Beautiful farmhouse with stunning views and all the amenities you could ask for! Super responsive host who answered all my questions and provided great recommendations and advice throughout our stay!

September 15, 2022 - September 19, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Great place to get away from the busyness of life and unwind. The host have provided most anything you would need for a great stay. Spenceville Farm is a great place for family gatherings both inside and out. The response time of communication has always been fast and the attention to detail is the best!

September 9, 2022 - September 11, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Hiking weekend

We LOVED your home and location of the property. The views outside were breathtaking and the photos of the inside do not do the home justice. Our favorite activity at your home was having the fire in the evening, out in front, while watching the sunset. We used your home as a hub for our hiking weekend. It was so close to many amazing hikes. We chose to do The Channels and Devils Bathtub. While we were bummed we didn’t get to see Rowdy, we had another dog that slept on the porch while we were there that was super sweet. We hope the dog found its owner (if it wasn’t yours) or way back home.

9/12/2022 at 9:40 PM

September 3, 2022 - September 5, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Perfection

We stayed at the property with my family and friends celebrating my 40th. Owners left birthday card, flowers and decorated the kitchen for me!!! Everybody had so much fun, house had everything we needed, property is fun to explore. We were the last guests to see and take pictures with that cool truck. Sad to see it gone but super happy we took the pictures before it got moved. I absolutely loved our stay there!

9/20/2022 at 11:50 PM

August 25,2022 - August 30, 2022 - A - Frame Cabin

 5/5

The best place to reset! Absolutely beautiful, super peaceful, and nice people!

August 18,2022 - August 25, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Wonderful

Spent time here for our wedding and we couldn’t have been more pleased!

9/1/2022 at 9:32 PM

August 14,2022 - August 17, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Peaceful and Beautiful

We took the kids to get away, and get away is exactly what we did! Very relaxing surroundings, gorgeous views and great house with everything you need.

8/31/2022 at 7:40 PM

August 8,2022 - August 12, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

The view is amazing! It’s private, quiet, and unbelievably kid and pet friendly!

August 5,2022 - August 7, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

The view is unbeatable. Everything was perfect, would stay again!

July 24,2022 - July 30, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Nice Family Vacation

I chose this house because of its location to some state parks that I was hoping to visit as I continue on the Virginia Trail Quest. I was able to visit 6 more, Yeah!. The views are gorgeous. The night on the porch watching the sunset are my favorite. We enjoyed the games at the house. The weather prevented us from enjoying a fire in the firepit but maybe next time the weather will be better. The slowness of internet helps with teenagers, we are strict about data on their phones so we had many long talks with our kids which was nice.

8/10/2022 at 8:57 AM

July 24,2022 - July 27, 2022 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

This is a wonderful place to stay for a hikers respite and the hosts are awesome! They are quick to respond to any issues!!

July 20,2022 - July 23, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

We used Spenceville as a home base for a south west Virginia hiking trip and the location was perfect. The front yard view is spectacular and we enjoyed a fire with the sunset every evening. The kitchen is well stocked and there are plenty of indoor and outdoor games to entertain kids of all ages. The house is clean and the hosts had great communication.

July 16,2022 - July 18, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Great place to stay for peace and quiet. Plenty of room for a large family. Well equipped kitchen. There were no surprises, after reading the description. Most of all, very nice hosts!! These folks are very interested in you having a great stay.

July 2,2022 - July 5, 2022 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

So relaxing

June 26,2022 - July 3, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Perfect

This farmhouse is just perfect. The view from that front porch is just amazing. This was our second time here and I can definitely see many more in the coming years.

7/4/2022 at 7:53 AM

June 22,2022 - June 25, 2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

No Review

June 19, 2022 - June 24,2022 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

This was a very special place!! The hosts have thought of every detail. It is very secluded and a true sanctuary to rest. We enjoyed the cows and bird watching. The kitchen was perfect for cooking a full meal but also we ate out around Marion and Abingdon too. We picked this location because it was so close to many hikes and the Creeper Trail but we found even more to do than we expected! Saltville is a lovely little town nearby and we enjoyed going to the local museum. The bed and shower were amazing at Spenceville Airbnb! Wow, to have such a good nights sleep was priceless. It was also wonderful to know that it was solar powered but also back up generator. We tried to conserve electricity as much as possible , but also on very hot days we’re were nice and comfortable. We will be returning!!

June 16, 2022 - June 19,2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Beautiful property

Beautiful views. Helpful hosts! Great weekend with our family. Thoroughly enjoyed the house and property.

6/19/2022 at 10:49 PM

June 14, 2022 - June 15,2022 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

A beautiful A Frame Cabin in the mountains. You will see wildlife around. Inside is beautifully decorated. You can relax and enjoy with your love ones. Communication with the owner was top notch! Tons of hiking around and The Channels are super close too!!! Will definitely stay again if in the area.

June 12, 2022 - June 16,2022 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Wonderful place!

June 10, 2022 - June 12,2022 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

Scenic views, very secluded, and the cabin is absolutely gorgeous!

June 8, 2022 - June 10,2022 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

What an absolute gem!! This magnificent cabin was truly a magical getaway. My girlfriend and I loved it so much. We are from norfolk and it was so nice to unplug in this little piece of paradise. The cabin was so clean and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook- just bring your own groceries of course! We hiked the property and got a little lost but it was still a gorgeous hike. Thank you Spenceville for such an amazing getaway ❤️

May 27, 2022 - May 29,2022 - A-Frame Cabin

5/5

Little piece of heaven

The perfect getaway to unplug from technology! Completely enjoyed just leaving schedules and clocks behind and embracing nature. Would absolutely recommend to others!

6/3/2022 at 5:43 PM

May 20, 2022 - May 23,2022 - Farmhouse

4/5

Very nice.

Impressive. Miraculous views.

5/25/2022 at 11:43 PM

May 6, 2022 - May 8, 2022 - A-Frame Cabin

5/5

Nestled in the country

Off the beaten path is a slight understatement. When you get to the property you can not see any other buildings on the property! The A-frame was clean and prepared for our stay. Management was a phone call/text away. My wife and I really enjoyed the stay. The weather kinda sucked but that's life. Overall we give high marks. We would definitely stay again. We send our thanks for allowing us to stay on there property.

5/9/2022 at 8:16 PM

April 26, 2022 - April 29, 2022 - Farmhouse

5/5

No Review

April 9, 2022 - April 12, 2022 - Farmhouse

5/5

No Review

April 5, 2022 - April 8, 2022 - Farmhouse

5/5

Wonderful stay

The house was perfect and exactly as described. We had a great time with our kids and would highly recommend it.

4/14/2022 at 3:23 AM

March 25, 2022 - March 27, 2022 - A-Frame Cabin

5/5

Spirit within the trees

This was the absolute greatest idea I could have found for us to do!! It was peaceful and relaxing but also mystical and thrilling!! I would definitely return again and again. Thanjs

3/28/2022 at 7:29 PM

January 14, 2022 - January 17, 2022 - Farmhouse

5/5

We had a fantastic weekend at Spenceville! Our hosts were so attentive, the property was gorgeous, and the house had everything we needed for a cozy, snowy weekend in and more.

December 9, 2021 - December 12, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

A truly great get away with lots of room for everyone to explore. The views are breathtaking. We had a lot of rain during our visit but it was still a wonderful setting for our family's Christmas get together. I loved having a room downstairs for my son to work remotely one day so we could all arrange a time to arrive together.

December 5, 2021 - December 8, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Spenceville Farms is an amazing place with great views! We really enjoyed our stay. Very clean comfy and homey! Would highly recommend to anyone!!

November 11, 2021 - November 14, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great place. Quiet and restful and tons of space.

November 5, 2021 - November 8, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Our stay at Diane and Michaels property was sublime! Very spacious property inside and out. Well appointed with kitchen necessities and plenty of throw blankets for snuggling. The surrounding acreage is a dream to meander and the sunsets on the porch can't be beat. I received responses within moments of messaging our hosts and felt very welcome and cozy while being there. This booking is a can't miss if you're going to be in the area! Thanks for everything!

11/10/2021 at 2:58 PM

November 4, 2021 - November 7, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin

Not Yet Reviewed

October 29, 2021 - November 1, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Comfort, quiet, and some of the best views I’ve experienced in an airbnb. You won’t regret staying here one bit.

October 18, 2021 - October 21, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Loved our stay here!

We all had a wonderful stay here. The amazing view can't be beat. We loved this peaceful, relaxing property, and we hope to return again in the future!

10/22/2021 at 1:29 AM

October 15, 2021 - October 17, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

This place was AMAZING! Plenty of room. Incredible views. Practical kitchen setup. Can’t wait to stay again.

October 14, 2021 - October 17, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin

5/5

Beautiful A frame cabin with great decor, the spiral staircase was really cool, the property is large and was gorgeous with all the fall colors. The king bed upstairs was extremely comfortable. And we even made friends with “Rowdy Boy” who was the resident friendly brown horse.

October 9, 2021 - October 12, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

Great getaway!

We loved our getaway at Spenceville Farms! The A-frame was unique & well stocked. Our hosts were responsive K ao helpful. Thanks for a great stay!

10/13/2021 at 3:00 AM

October 2, 2021 - October 5, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

PHENOMENAL LOCATION !!!

These pictures don’t do it justice. Views are epic! We met family for a long weekend. Everyone was pleased with the home & location. We grilled, did bond fires, played yard games, hiked, took fall photos, and had a wonder time. Highly recommended this location. Plenty of space - photos don’t reflect all the exceptional details. Everything was stylish rustic farmhouse. House was clean & lots of kitchen accessories for cooking. We played board games each night and enjoyed the HUGE swing with u forgettable sunsets. BIG THUMBS UP 👍

September 26, 2021 - September 30, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Wow!

Everything about our stay was perfect. We have been going to Grayson Highlands for the past 20 years, but had never explored this side of the mountains. During our four night stay we were able to take day trips to Clinch Mountain, Grayson Highlands, White top mountain and Mount Roger‘s. Coming back to this beautiful cabin to sit on the front porch and watch the sunset, along with having a fire and then getting into the sauna before retreating to a very comfortable bed was blissful 😃 Nature at it’s best with a beautiful, clean dog friendly cabin, solitude and great walks thru out the property. I just want to move here! Tami and Rick/ Sara and Duece (our lil dogs 🐶) we definitely hope to visit this gorgeous area again!

September 24, 2021 - September 26, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

A getaway like no other!

Everything about this place was absolutely perfect! The cabin was so beautifully renovated and had such a rustic feel with modern amenities/touches. We went looking for the dryer and found out that the washer and dryer was all in one! Never had seen that before. The cabin was very clean and there was everything you could possibly need there. The ONLY thing that could have surpassed the beauty inside was the breathtaking views on the outside. We will definitely be coming back!

9/27/2021 at 1:00 AM

September 23, 2021 - September 25, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Don’t hesitate to book! The views are breathtaking, the house is warm and open and immaculate.

September 17, 2021 - September 19, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin 

5/5

A' PERFECT GETAWAY

If you are looking for time in nature, tranquility and the inspiration of gorgeous mountain views, the A frame @ Spenceville Farms is the place for you!! My wife and I, originally from New York have never experienced nature as surreal and stunningly beautiful as Spenceville Farms. The A frame is snuggled back in the woods so we had complete privacy. However, we were able to explore the 150-acre property and were simply in awe of the gorgeous mountain views surrounding the property. We enjoyed hiking around the property, seeing cattle and all kinds of other wildlife. We loved getting out and about (Abingdon Vineyards, Abingdon Brewery...etc) and coming back to build a fire in the evening. The owners were super-attentive...quick to deliver firewood and answered each message in a timely and thorough manner. The cabin is newly renovated and we couldn't believe everything was powered by solar. You'd never know!! Also, it comes with lots of extras (games, coffee waffle-maker...etc) and is very clean!! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. We try to get outdoors every fall, and this place outranks all other places we have rented over the last 5 years! We plan to make this a yearly retreat!!

9/20/2021 at 3:33 PM

September 16, 2021 - September 19, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Wonderful well appointed house and such great amenities! We could not have asked for anything to have been better. Everything was a five star as far as we all were concerned!

September 13, 2021 - September 15, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin

 5/5

We got cabin fever!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! This is truly a getaway with views for days! My wife and I have been coming to Virginia's mountains for 5 years to visit and take our family on the Virginia Creeper Trail. This cabin was everything we could have asked for and much more. The owners did a wonderful job of answering all our questions. This is our new favorite family mountain getaway and we cannot wait to stay again next year! :) Highly recommended.

9/17/2021 at 8:45 PM

September 12, 2021 - September 15, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

absolutely heaven on earth. everything was clean. home decor was fabulous. host has fast communication. 10/10. can't wait to go back again!

September 10, 2021 - September 12, 2021 - A-Frame Cabin 

5/5

So cute and quaint

Incredible mountain views on the way back to the cabin. Plenty of room to run around and hike on the farm. Each evening we enjoyed seeing Mamma deer, her babies and Rowdy the horse. House with just about anything you could need in a home away from home. Owners responsive to messages. Wifi is not included just yet, but who needs it when there is so much to do outside! Evenings on the loft’s back porch is a MUST!! You won't regret staying here! Such a very special place where you feel like you are all alone with nature!

9/13/2021 at 2:54 AM

September 5, 2021 - September 7, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Truly a wonderful place to get away and relax. The view from the front porch swing/bed is really unbeatable! They were super quick communicating back and forth as well! Definitely recommend and will definitely be back!

August 28, 2021 - September 4, 2021 - Farmhouse

No Review

August 19, 2021 - August 21, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

The Land: Have you ever been to one of those places where you just have to see it in person to really experience the beauty of it? Spenceville Farm is one of those places; the pictures just don’t do it justice! The farm has breathtaking views of mountains and also a ton of cleared land to enjoy. There are hikes/walks you can do on the property to explore all that it has to offer and might even run into a wild horse or cows on this active dairy farm. The House: The house has been beautifully restored and renovated. It has a ton of character, open floor plan for enjoying time with family and friends, tons of amenities like games, a fire pit, and a grill, and plenty of space for a larger group. We had two families of five and two dogs on our trip and there were still unused beds. The kitchen is stocked with everything you’ll need for cooking. The front porch has a huge hanging bed that we spent about half our time on, haha. The Area: There is plenty to explore in the surrounding area that we just didn’t get to, but I’m sure we will venture out next time. We will definitely be back to Spenceville Farm!

August 7, 2021 - August 11, 2021 - Farmhouse

Not yet reviewed

August 2, 2021 - August 5, 2021 - Farmhouse

Not yet reviewed

July 18, 2021 - July 23, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

This house is absolutely beautiful with some amazing views! The host Diane and Scott were very responsive with anything we needed and were the nicest people. House is clean and well equipped. We really enjoyed visits from the farm dogs they are so sweet. We will definitely be booking this property again in the future. Thanks again guys !!!

July 12, 2021 - July 17, 2021 - Farmhouse

3/5

The driveway was next to impossible to navigate on a motorcycle

The view from the front porch was spectacular. Navigating the driveway on motorcycles was next to impossible. I was told it was motorcycle friendly. To say that is motorcycle friendly is a huge stretch. If you’re doing a motorcycle trip do not go to this place. If not it’s a beautiful place

7/20/2021 at 8:31 PM

July 3, 2021 - July 10, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Incredible views

Incredible mountain views. Plenty of room to run around and hike. House with just about anything you could need in a home away from home. Owners responsive to messages. Wifi is not great, but who needs it when there is so much to do outside! You won't regret staying here!

7/10/2021 at 7:45 PM

June 27, 2021 - July 3, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

great get away

It was a great place to stay with my family.

7/5/2021 at 12:57 PM

June 20, 2021 - June 26, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Heaven on Earth

My husband, our pup, and I had such a wonderful and relaxing stay at Spenceville Farms! The farmhouse is so charming and the views/property are absolutely gorgeous. There is a ton of space to explore, but we spent most of our time lounging on the front porch and taking in the view. We were visited several times by the friendly farm horse and some friendly farm pups. We even had some deer come right up to the house. The hosts are also really lovely. They were so kind and quick to answer any question that I had. We really appreciated the extra touches like firewood delivered to the door, the stocked coffee bar, and the sauna. It was the perfect place for us to slow down and escape the busyness of daily life! Of Note: The farmhouse is located on a working farm. There was occasionally farmwork going on around us. However, it was not intrusive to our stay and they were very respectful of our privacy. They also gave advanced notice, which was quite thoughtful. Additionally, if you are bringing your dogs, make sure they have adequate tick protection. The ticks are no joke!

6/27/2021 at 4:16 AM

June 6, 2021 - June 13, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Amazing

I never knew that a front porch would be so soothing to a person’s soul. I spent unknown hours just sitting there, watching the trees on the mountains grow. The house was so amazingly comfortable and had everything we needed. We even named the robot vacuum “Fred” and he became part of our family. We still miss him. Anyway, if you need a place to get away from it all, this is the place because, it hasn’t gotten there yet. I have already booked my vacation for June 2022!

6/19/2021 at 2:43 PM

June 2, 2021 - June 6, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Just a dream

I was lucky enough to visit this gorgeous home twice recently! There are not enough words to describe how in love I am with Spenceville Farms. The home is beautiful, stocked fully and incredibly clean. It felt like home as soon as I walked in. And then there are the views. There is nothing more amazing than rocking on the porch swing/bed watching the sunset. There were plenty of games and hiking to do, but I enjoyed the peace the most! I will definitely be back.

6/22/21 at 3:02 PM

May 22, 2021 - May 29, 2021 - Farmhouse

No Review

May 17, 2021 - May 20, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great place to unwind! Loved the farm dogs too!

May 11, 2021 - May 14, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Spenceville was the absolute perfect place for our 3-day/2-night family get together w/ our mother who grew up in the general area. It was so nice being around farmland w/ plenty of acreage on all sides. The views from the front of the property are to die far. The property has plenty of open space inside, was clean, and well-equipped. We used the 3 upstairs bedrooms, and brought all our food. It was so fun sitting around the fire pit at night, and catching up. We even played corn hole ... something I thought I'd never do. We're hoping to make Spenceville an annual event!

April 24, 2021 - May 1, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Views....views...views

We really enjoyed staying at Spenceville Farms! The views from all directions were amazing. We loved the front porch swing and rockers. The kitchen was fully stocked. Overall the place was perfect for our stay.

5/3/2021 at 12:16 PM

April 17, 2021 - April 23, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Awesome Getaway!!

The property was beautiful. The sunsets were amazing. Plenty of room and property for our dogs to play. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

4/23/2021 at 8:25 PM

April 10, 2021 - April 17, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Beautiful property, as described

We had a nice stay at this beautiful property. The house was clean, very nice, and just as described in the listing. Diane was very responsive and check in / check out was smooth and easy.

4/17/2021 at 9:17 PM

April 6, 2021 - April 9, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

This place is heaven. All you can hear as you sit outside is the occasional cow in the distance. Our 3 year old son loved it as soon as he got out of the car. He rode his bike, jumped on the trampoline and kicked balls in the yard. The inside is just as beautiful as the outside. The property manager was so responsive to any questions we had about the property. We hope to come back soon!

March 29, 2021 - April 1, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great place to rent. Very quiet, great views. Stylish and updated house. My family of 5 absolutely loved it.

March 20, 2021 - March 23, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Absolutely Worth It

This farmhouse is an absolute gem within the Virginia hillsides. The pictures do not do it justice. The Spencefarm is breathtaking from every standpoint. Between the amazing views, the beautiful and clean home, and the very friendly and quick to respond owners that went out of their way to make us feel at home away from home. It’s far enough away from neighbors and the big city, yet right around the corner from anything you may need. It’s a perfect location just to sit and enjoy the gorgeous sunset. Within a few hours are 5 state borders.... take a drive. Thank you for allow us to stay. Hope to be back again.

04/03/2021 at 2:47 PM

March 13, 2021 - March 18, 2021 - Farmhouse

4/5

Beautiful home and property

The farmhouse was absolutely beautiful inside and out. The property itself was full of fun and adventure for our daughter. From running up and down the hills, to going to see the cows and friendly dogs. House was very clean and we'll stocked with everything we needed. The only negative (which of course the owners can't change) is the area. I can't say we were expecting the amount of trash on the sides of roads or at the bottom of the mountain to the property. But again the property the house was on is breathtaking. Thank you for sharing with our family

03/20/2021 at 1:50 PM

March 5, 2021 - March 7, 2021 - Farmhouse

 5/5

such a great place to stay!!! we had a blast! will be back!

February 26, 2021 - February 28, 2021 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Perfect getaway with family friends and kids!

We had an amazing weekend on this stellar farm! The house is vacation-perfect for families with kids. Lots of fun amenities in the house and great layout for hanging out, playing games and making memories. Will definitely book Spenceville Farm again, the owners are very responsive-great communication!

03/01/2021 at 4:34 PM

February 19, 2021 - February 21, 2021 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Spenceville was perfect for our girls weekend! We were able to explore the farm during the day for those million dollar views and had plenty of room to spread out inside to keep warm. The decor is beautiful and the house is well stocked. Highly recommend!!

February 13, 2021 - February 15, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Incredible views and really clean and spacious home. Make sure you get a chance to walk the property while you stay here. This is a truly gorgeous property with so much room for family and for activities. We spent the majority of our time staring out the windows at the hills and valleys. The host made sure the entire place was clean and even supplied firewood and board games. We came over Valentine's Day weekend and got engaged! We had so much fun making homemade pasta on the kitchen island, dancing in the living room, and watching movies in the basement. We had visits from the farm dog, cat, and horse which just added to the entire experience. It was like a movie! Make sure to check out Hungry Mother State Park, only 40 minutes away! Our only concern was the nearby town that you drive through to get there. Make sure you do a bit of research on Saltville before you book your stay and make sure you have the groceries and gas you need before getting off the highway. The actual home is at least a mile out of town and once you're there you would never know there was a town anywhere close by. We felt very safe on the property.

February 6, 2021 - February 11, 2021 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Amazing house in an even more amazing place

The house was super clean and had everything we could ask for and need, from utensils and appliances, to board games. The porch swing was one of the best things! The views were amazing, the land was huge and we went on many hikes on the property. We enjoyed being surrounded by nature, it was very tranquil. It was the perfect place to relax and at the same time never get bored! We wish we could stay longer and can’t wait to be able to come back!! We will definitely recommend it to friends.

02/11/2021 at 5:13 PM

February 2, 2021 - February 5, 2021

 No Review

January 24, 2021 - January 30, 2021 - Farmhouse

 5/5

Perfect place to relax and get away from it all!

This rental was a dream come true! The views are just as amazing as described! The house itself was so clean, super comfortable and had everything we needed! The property is massive and gave us lots to explore. The kids loved jumping on the trampoline and running on the hay bales. We got to meet a very curious herd of cows and a sweet horse. The owners are lovely and very responsive! We couldn’t have had a better stay. The internet is spotty, but honestly that was a good thing for us because who doesn’t need a break from technology? We cannot wait to return to do more exploring. Thanks for an amazing stay!

01/31/2021 at 12:38 AM

January 7, 2021 - January 10, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Amazing Get Away!

We were looking for a quick weekend get away so the kids could see the snow this year. This farm house was amazing and everything we could have imagined. Beautiful mountainside views, many hills to sled on, a warm fire, hot cocoa and smores. Even the dog had a great time roaming the snowy hills and chasing the kids around the mountain.

01/23/2021 at 9:17 PM

December 31, 2020 - January 3, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

Unforgettable Getaway

We wanted a quiet, peaceful way to bring in 2021, and this was the perfect way to do it! The views on the property were amazing, especially with that sunset! Everything was provided, even board games and ping pong for us to keep entertained! This sanctuary was truly unforgettable! There was plenty of room and the grill was so helpful to have! We were able to go Greyson Highlands State Park to see breathtaking views and pet some wild ponies!!! Super amazing trip! We hope to come back again soon :) The only feedback I would give would be that one sink seemed like it had a smell coming from the sewage. But honestly that would be the only thing! Thank you for an unforgettable and amazing trip to remember!! :)

01/03/2021 at 6:22 PM

December 27, 2020 - December 31, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great place to get away!!

The farm was a great place to get away and relax. The views were great and the sunsets were amazing! It was convenient to several great hikes. The owners were also great to communicate with.

12/31/2020 at 9:09 PM

December 12, 2020 - December 15, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great space for an idyllic stay

Big sky and big stars, and great space to roam with the pup on the property (or nearby parks). Like a painting of Virginia hill country. Bring a fiddle or the family -- good getaway. For families, configuration is good to stash plenty of kids in the basement (for the rowdy ones) and near the master beds (for the littler ones). Clean tasting well water, plenty of hot water, great lighting options, comfy furniture

12/17/2020 at 5:54 PM

July 24, 2021 - July 31, 2021 - Farmhouse

5/5

My family and I just returned from spending a fantastic week at Spencerville Farms in Virginia! The cabin was so wonderful! It was clean, fully stocked and had all that we needed. The front porch was my FAVORITE part. The views were so AMAZING! I began each day with my coffee on the big sleeper swing. It was the most relaxing and peaceful feeling ! After a full day of being out and about we returned to just spend quality time as a family. We played games at the kitchen table or walked and explored the property! The sweetest pups would visit us in the evenings! Even had a vist from a horse one evening! Occasionally you could hear a bellow from a cow off in the distance. It was all so perfect!! The communication from Diane was almost immediate. Even before we arrived she answered all of my questions and gave suggestions on where to visit and where to eat. The areas we chose to visit were each about 30-45 minutes away but the rides were through sloping hills with countryside scenery. We boated on South Holston Lake on two separate days. This was my husband's favorite! So many photo opportunities. The lake was surrounded by gorgeous views and the water so refreshing! We visited Hungry Mother State Park, Bristol Caverns and Saltville WAVE pool right in town! I HIGHLY recommend staying here for a most memorable, exciting, peaceful and relaxing experience. It was a truly fantastic vacation for myself, my husband and our 5 year old daughter. THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS WONDERFUL PLACE!

December 3, 2020 - December 6, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

The Perfect Getaway

We were looking to get out of town and find someplace that let us escape the daily grind and celebrate my father’s birthday, a man who loves the outdoors and relishes his time with family. JACKPOT. Pull up a rocking chair on the porch in the brisk morning winter air, sipping on that hot cup of coffee and just drift off into the epic valley landscape that unravels through the mist. Can’t beat that... plus the house is immaculately clean, comfortable, warm, and has the acres behind it for hikes, birdwatching, and the many cows that roam the lands. Watch out for the cow pies, but cherish the memories. We played all the games provided including the many checkers games on the checkers table. We would definitely recommend this place! Take the time, slow down, enjoy the sunsets, and you will leave rejuvenated and grounded.

12/12/2020 at 1:17 AM

November 25, 2020 - November 28, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Holiday away

This farmhouse was everything we hoped for and more. It has everything you need for a family get together- well stocked kitchen, plenty of places for people to sleep, comfy chairs and blankets. The sauna was amazing! We loved that there was a tv in the basement but no where else. To top it off, the views were amazing. Loved this place and we all want to come back again soon!!

11/28/2020 at 11:53 PM

November 11, 2020 - November 25, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great place, great location

Perfect getaway. We also worked a lot during it, and the internet signal was strong enough to do Zoom meetings and otherwise connect to the internet to do work. Highly recommend this place for families.

11/27/2020 at 1:37 AM

October 30, 2020 - November 2, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

PERFECT GETAWAY

If you are looking for time in nature, tranquility and the inspiration of gorgeous mountain views, Spenceville Farm is the place for you!! My 8 year old son enjoyed playing with the legos, shooting baskets, jumping on the trampoline, and the big television downstairs. As a family (Grandparents, parents, 2 teens and 8 yr old boy) we played board games, bocce ball, and corn hole (all provided with the house). The many windows allow for great mountain views throughout the living area, and the outside spaces are just spectacular! We enjoyed hiking around the property and building a fire in the fire pit each night too. The owners were really attentive...quick to deliver firewood, helped us locate a missing t.v. remote by reaching out to the renters before us, and answered each message in a timely and thorough manner. The house is decorated very nicely with lots of extras and is very clean!! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. We go to the mountains every fall, and this place outranks all of the other places we have rented over the last 8 years! I hope to plan another visit soon.

11/03/2020 at 7:10 PM

October 26, 2020 - October 30, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

~*Million Dollar View*~

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! This is truly a getaway with views for days! My husband and I have been coming to Virginia's mountains for 5 years to visit and take our family on the Virginia Creeper Trail. This home was everything we could of asked for and much more. The owners did a wonderful job of answering all our questions and even to go as far as to leave frozen sweets for our children. This is our new favorite family mountain getaway and we cannot wait to stay again next year! :) Highly recommended.

11/01/2020 at 8:42 PM

October 22, 2020 - October 25, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Spenceville Satisfaction

Our 2 families of 4 and 5 spent a long weekend at Spenceville Farms and our experience was amazing. The house itself was very accommodating and had great little decoration touches that made you feel right at home. This is a place that you definitely feel relaxed in and know that it's taken care and loved by many. The basement area was a perfect place for our 4 older kids, as there was plenty of space for them to have a play area all their own and also be able to have a 'campout sleepover' just for themselves. The kids loved having access to the trampoline and challenged each other to endless games of checkers on the custom game table. When we weren't out hiking and exploring the waterfalls, we spent a lot of time exploring the property and enjoyed seeing the cows and local wildlife as well. At nighttime, we spent most of our time sitting by the campfire and enjoying the view of the stars in the wide open sky. The hosts were very prompt in answering our questions about the property layout and were super quick in delivering bundles of firewood for our nightly fires. We are extremely happy to have found this hidden gem and are already looking ahead to seeing when we can visit again.

10/26/2020 at 4:44 PM

October 19, 2020 - October 22, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Awesome

Awesome place. Hope to return in March 2021

10/29/2020 at 6:06 PM

October 13, 2020 - October 17, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Perfect retreat

Our family (kids, parent, grandparent) all loved our stay at Spenceville Farms. The house and property were both gorgeous and spacious and had everything we needed to have a relaxing vacation. We loved the board games, Legos, guitar, game table, trampoline, Keurig, waffle maker. The kids (5, 8, 10, & 12) loved exploring inside and out. The owners were quick and helpful with responses to questions we had. As described, the internet was indeed a little slow/spotty - so we never even tried to log in to use the tv, but we were plenty occupied without it. We highly recommend this rental and would stay again if we are ever back in the area.

10/18/2020 at 9:45 PM

October 8, 2020 - October 12, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

The Most Beautiful Getaway

Everything about this place was absolutely perfect! The house was so beautifully renovated and had such a homey feel. It was very clean and had there was everything you could possibly need there. The ONLY thing that could have surpassed the beauty inside was the breathtaking views on the outside. I will definitely be coming back!

10/18/2020 at 12:53 AM

October 3, 2020 - October 7, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Don’t stay anywhere else

A recently re-enacted farm house on an actual farm - get out of here. We explored the property by foot, by Jeep, by side-by-side. We spent the evenings under the Milky Way while roasting marshmallows over a camp fire. Yeah, this place is the real deal.

10/12/2020 at 10:37 PM

September 24, 2020 - September 30, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Wonderful birthday week

My wife and I were looking for a peaceful secluded place to stay with mountain views to relax and enjoy my birthday and Michael's house did not disappoint. It is stocked with everything you will need clean and the views are just stunning. We went out and did a few hikes in parts of the Appalachian trail, visited a winery and downtown Bristol. Each day we were back in time for the beautiful sunsets. We will definitely be back.

10/01/2020 at 12:20 AM

September 21, 2020 - September 24, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Relaxing & Beautiful

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Spence Farm! The views were beautiful, the house was warm and cozy, and our dogs absolutely loved having all that room to run in the fields. Diane was extremely kind and responsive during our stay.

09/29/2020 at 1:38 PM

September 17, 2020 - September 20, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Family Friendly Getaway

Our family needed a break from home during quarantine and wanted a change of scenery. We found the beautiful home and farm last minute and loved our weekend stay. Our boys loved running around the farm, jumping for hours on the trampoline and fishing. The views, especially at sunset, were some of the best we've seen. Our boys ask non-stop to go back to the farm which we plan on doing.

09/29/2020 at 1:51 PM

September 15, 2020 - September 16, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Great views

The house was remodeled very nicely. Loved the rustic look inside. House was well stocked with pretty much anything you could need. The only thing we would say is that anyone that is staying with motorcycles the driveway is pretty tricky with the loose gravel and going up and down the hill. But other than that I would totally recommend this property.

09/17/2020 at 7:03 PM

September 4, 2020 - September 11, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Expectations Exceeded

Everything from the initial inquiry to the stay were outstanding, but the photos do not do it justice! The home exudes warmth and compliments the spectacular property and views. With easy access to local attractions and surrounding areas, we could not have chosen a better property and look forward to returning.

09/12/2020 at 3:18 PM

August 10, 2020 - August 14, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Beautiful and relaxing place

The view makes this property! It is a comfortable and cozy home but spacious enough to sleep 10+ people. The kitchen is well-stocked with all the essentials, even an instant pot, crock-pot, keurig, and waffle maker. There is also a second fridge/freezer which comes in handy for large groups. My boys loved the trampoline and there was so much room to walk the property. 40 min to Hungry Mother State Park, 1 hr to Grayson Highlands State Park and 40 min to Damascus to do the Creeper Trail. We did our day trips and came back in the late afternoon to relax for the evenings and watch the sunset. I loved that there was no TV in the common area upstairs because all we wanted to do was look out the windows or go sit on the wonderful front porch and watch the skies over the mountains. The owners were simply great. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet retreat.

08/16/2020 at 8:21 PM

August 7, 2020 - August 9, 2020 - Farmhouse

5/5

Amazing!!

Beautiful property, gorgeous house, great communication from owner, and million dollar view is an understatement! Sunset and star gazing was something you have to see to believe! Hate to have to go home! Thank you!!

08/09/2020 at 3:01 PM

bottom of page